Cody Johnson Takes Bull By The Horns In New Album, 'Ain't Nothin' To It'

Cody Johnson is a huge star on the Texas music scene and the only unsigned artist in history to have sold out NRG Stadium at RodeoHouston.

Today (Jan. 18th), Cody released his first major-label debut album, 'Ain't Nothin' to It.'

Cody’s story is much different than most country music artists. Cody arrived on the scene with an album that he had already recorded before he signed his record deal. He says his only goal for the album was to make good music. Warner Music Nashville heard the record and are in the business of making ‘good music’ making this a perfect match.

Cody Alan had a chance to catch up with Cody Johnson on Thursday afternoon just hours before the record was released.

“How excited are you for this new project to be out?” asked Cody Alan.

“I’m more than excited. For me, and I don’t want this to come across the wrong way, but this is almost relief for me. The album was recorded independently, before my deal with Warner. That being said, I wanted to release it as an independent project in October.”

The opportunity came from Warner Music Nashville, which caused some practice in patients from the Texas real-life cowboy.

“I would have been a fool to pass it up, but what it did was it postponed October, November, December…What a great decision to do what they wanted to do, because now here we are.”

Cody Alan who spent numerous years of his career in Texas quickly agreed by saying, “The things that the Texans have known for so long can now be released to all the people!”

Cody Johnson shares this album with the statement of, "There was zero agenda. I want to make a record of songs I want to listen to. If I turned on a CD of somebody else, these are songs I want to hear, that make me happy, that make me sad, that make me move."

Ain't Nothin' to It’ Track List:

  1. Ain't Nothin' to It.
  2.  Noise
  3. Fence Posts
  4. Understand Why
  5. Long Haired Country Boy
  6. Nothin’ On You
  7. Honky Tonk Mood
  8. Monday Morning Merle
  9. Ya’ll People
  10. Where Cowboys Are King
  11. On My Way To You
  12. Doubt Me Now
  13. Dear Rodeo
  14. Husbands And Wives
  15. His Name Is Jesus

Catch Cody on the road! His U.S. Tour details can be found on his website.

Photo Credit: Getty Images. 

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content

The Bobby Bones Show · A Bunch Of Friends
Listen Now on iHeartRadio